Skip to main content
Knowledge Base

Restrict Access for Access Control

Notice: The product or feature described on this page has not yet been released.

Restricted Access allows users to temporarily prevent access on specified plans when the panel is in the Armed state. This can be used to prevent access to the property by users who may not be able to disarm the security panel.

Requirements

  • The account must have Access Control and a security panel
  • Double swipes must be reliable on at least one external reader
     
    Note: This is required for local override.

How does Restricted Access work?

When enabled on an account, Restricted Access allows users to designate plans that will only work when the security panel is disarmed. When the security panel is armed, access on participating plans will be denied until the panel is disarmed by any means.

Restricted Access can be disabled on the account at any time, and individual plans can be set to ignore the Restricted Access setting if needed. By default, all generic All Access Plans will ignore Restricted Access to ensure that some users can gain access or override Restricted Access locally if needed.

How to enable or disable Restricted Access:

  1. Log into the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Restricted Access Settings.
  4. Click the Enable Restricted Access toggle switch to enable or disable the feature.
  5. Click Save.

How to enable or disable Restricted Access on a specific plan:

  1. Log into the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click User Access.
  3. Click Edit next to the desired plan.
  4. Click Schedule.
  5. Select whether the plan only works when the panel is disarmed or if it works when the panel is both armed and disarmed.
  6. Click Save.

Note: When Restricted Access is first enabled on an account, the Restricted Access parameter will be applied to all plans on the account with the exception of an existing All Access plan. Additionally, any true All Access plans cannot be restricted using Restricted Access.

How to create a rule to override Restricted Access locally

Restricted Access will always pause when the security panel is disarmed, but if you need a way to override it locally when the controller is offline, you will need an Automation Rule to allow this. Without a rule you may not be able to disable restricted access at the reader if the controller is offline. 

By default, a rule will be created to allow all users on an All Access Plan to override restricted access when the controller is offline by double swiping at any door. If this rule is ever deleted or you wish to remove it and replace it with a rule specifying specific doors, you can use the following steps.

  1. Log into the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click Automation.
  3. Click Add New Rule, then click New Rules Builder.
  4. Enter a name for the rule.
  5. Click When.
  6. Select Door, then click Next.
  7. In Door, select the desired door the rule will apply to or select Any doors.
  8. In Select Status, select Door Accessed with Double Swipe.
     
    Note: This is the only option that is allowed for use with Restricted Access.
     
  9. Click Done.
  10. Click Then.
  11. Click Restricted Access, then click Next.
  12. Select whether the rule is to exit or enter Restricted Access when offline, then click Done.
     
    Note: This will be used to exit Restricted Access in almost all cases.
     
  13. Click schedule.
  14. Select At all times to have the rule run at all times, or select Only during the following times to select the desired time frame.
     
    Note: It is recommended to have this rule run at all times.
     
  15. Click Done.
  16. Click Save.
Additional considerations
  • Only users within a generic All Access Plan can trigger these rules.
  • Any Restricted Access rule will be sent to every controller on the account
  • The rule itself will only work if the controller is offline. However, the All Access plan will still allow access.

How to set up a notification for Restricted Access failure

You can create a notification to warn a user(s) if the system failed to change in/out of Restricted Access mode due to the controller being offline.

To set up a Access Control Rule Failed notification:
  1. Log into the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click Notifications.
  3. Click New Notification.
  4. Click Business.
  5. Click Access Control Rule Failed.
  6. Select the desired timeframe and recipients.
  7. Click Save.

Interested in Alarm.com?

Alarm.com technology is sold, installed, and serviced by licensed service providers near you.

 

Let's Get Started

  • Was this article helpful?