Skip to main content
Knowledge Base

What happens when an account's video clip online storage limit is reached?

There are two major components to saved video clips: Online storage and monthly clip limit. If you reach your online storage limit, older clips are deleted automatically to make room. If you reach your monthly clip limit, your non-alarm recording rules are paused for the rest of the month.

To view your video usage:

  1. Log into the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click Video.
  3. Click Saved Video Clips.
  4. Monthly Clip Limit and Oldest Recorded Clip are displayed at the bottom of the page.
  5. On either Monthly Clip Limit or Oldest Recorded Clip, click Help  for more detailed status information.

Monthly clip limit versus online storage

Monthly clip limit Online storage

Monthly clip limit.png

This is how many new clips your video devices can upload per month.

Deleting clips has no effect on this limit because it only deals with new uploads.

Online storage.png

This is how many previously-uploaded clips the account can store online.

You can delete clips to free up online storage space if desired, but it is not necessary.

Online storage details

This is how many total clips can be stored on the Alarm.com customer website or Alarm.com app at any point in time for an account.

When an account's video clip storage is full, clips continue to upload unless the monthly upload limit has been reached. If a video clip is uploaded to an account whose online storage is full, the system overwrites the oldest unprotected video clip to make room for the newest clip.

For more information about protecting clips, see Protect a video clip.

Monthly clip limit details

This is how many times a video device can upload a new clip to the Alarm.com customer website or Alarm.com app every month.

If an account's monthly video clip upload limit is reached, recording rules, with the exception of alarm-triggered recording rules, are paused. You can resume the recording rules manually on the first day of the following month or immediately after the account's service package is upgraded to include additional video clips.

Note: Recording rules (with the exception of alarm-triggered recording rules) do not automatically resume at the beginning of the month. They must be manually reactivated. For more information about pausing and resuming recording rules, see Pause or resume a video recording rule.

To reduce the number of clips uploaded:
  • Adjust your recording rules and increase the minimum delay between clips.
  • Adjust the ground zone or tripwire of any video analytics rule to only record important events. For more information about configuring a Video Analytics rule, see Change a camera's Video Analytics settings.
  • Schedule your rules to only run during the most important times of the day.
To add a schedule to or adjust a recording rule:
  1. Log into the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click Video.
  3. Click Recording rules.
  4. Click Edit next to the rule to edit.
  5. Make the desired adjustments to the rule.
  6. Click Save Rule.
Get clip limit notifications

By default, the primary email address on the account is notified when the number of clips uploaded gets closer to the monthly clip limit.

  • Notification emails are sent when 50%, 90%, and 100% of the monthly video upload is reached.
  • If an account reaches 100%, a notification is also sent at the beginning of the next month when uploads are allowed again.

Note: If the default notification is not present, you can create a system event notification to get notifications about the monthly video upload limit. For more information about creating a system event notification, see Create/edit a system event notification.

Interested in Alarm.com?

Alarm.com technology is sold, installed, and serviced by licensed service providers near you.

 

Let's Get Started

  • Was this article helpful?