Skip to main content
Knowledge Base

Managing Access Plans settings

Access Plans allow you to create reusable access configurations that can be assigned to multiple users. For accounts using Access Plan User Management (APUM) without Access Control, Access Plans can either be enabled or disabled.

When Access Plans are disabled, the user interface simplifies the experience similar to accounts without Access Plan User Management, while still allowing you to configure individual user access through Personal Access Plans.

Configure Access Plans settings

Access Plans can be configured to be available at both the Group level and Single System level. Access Plan settings can be configured using the Alarm.com customer website.

To configure Access Plan settings:
  1. Log in to the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Access Plans Settings.
  4. Click the toggle switch to enable or disable Access Plan settings.

Note: Each toggle controls Access Plans for that location/group only. Enabling or disabling at the Group level does not affect Single System settings and vice versa. Once enabled, the toggle can only be disabled when no Access Control is configured on the account/group and Access Plans at that account/group have been deleted.


User interface changes when Access Plans are enabled or disabled

The user interface adapts based on whether Access Plans are enabled or disabled, providing a streamlined experience appropriate to your configuration.

When Access Plans are enabled

When Access Plans are enabled, the User Profile Page will remain the same as other accounts using access plans, such as on Access Control accounts. For more information Access Plans, see Manage Access Plans.

When Access Plans are disabled

Several changes will be present under the User Access section:

  • Access Points: The option to edit (i.e., Edit) is removed from Access Points.
  • Access Plans: The Access Plans tab is removed from the User Access section.
  • User Profile page: Within particular users profiles new features are available.
    • An Access Type section is added, showing which devices the user can access.
    • The Access Period section remains, showing when the user can access devices.
    • Clicking Access Type navigates to the Access Type configuration page.
    • Clicking Access Period navigates to the Access Period configuration page.
  • Users List page: Personal Access Plan icons and names are removed from the user list.
  • Device Settings page: 
    • The Manage Access Point button is removed from each device's settings page.
    • If this is the only button in the Settings section, the entire Settings section is removed.

Managing Access Period

The Access Period page combines temporary access (i.e., expiring credentials) with schedule restrictions into a single, easy-to-use interface.

Configuring Access Period

The Access Period can be configured using the Alarm.com customer website.

To configure the Access Period:
  1. Log in to the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click User Access.
  3. Click Users.
  4. Select a user to view their profile.
  5. Click Access Period.
  6. Select Standard Access, Restricted Schedule, or Temporary Access. For more information, see What are the differences in Access Period options?.

Managing Access Type when Access Plans are disabled

The Access Type page provides the ability to control which devices a user can access.

Configuring Access Type

Access Type can be configured using the Alarm.com customer website.

To configure Access Type:
  1. Log in to the Alarm.com customer website.
  2. Click User Access.
  3. Click Users.
  4. Select a user to view their profile.
  5. Click on Access Type.
  6. Select Existing + Future (Group Level Only), All Existing Devices, Set by Device, or No Device Access. For more information, see What are the differences in Access Type options?.

Frequently Asked Questions

Standard Access
  • The user can access assigned devices 24/7 with no time restrictions.
  • No additional configuration needed.
Restricted Schedule
  • The user can only access assigned devices during specific days and times.
  • A Weekly Schedule editor appears where you can set allowed access times.
  • Credentials never expire.
Temporary Access
  • The user has time-limited access that starts and ends on a specific date and time.
  • A Temporary Schedule editor appears where you can set the Starting and Ending date and time.
  • The user will have access to devices at the times specified here.

Note: Standard Access, Restricted Schedule, and Temporary Access are mutually exclusive. Only one can be used at a time.

Existing + Future (Group Level Only)
  • The user can access all current devices and any devices added in the future.
  • The device selector is hidden and replaced with descriptive text.
  • Access is still restricted by the schedule set in Access Period.
All Existing Devices
  • The user can access all currently displayed devices. New devices added in the future will not be granted automatically.
  • If you manually deselect any device, the selection automatically changes to Set by Device.
Set by Device
  • Allows you to manually select which specific devices the user can access.
  • The current device selections are preserved.
  • You can add or remove individual devices as needed.
No Device Access
  • The user cannot access any devices.
  • All device selections are cleared.
  • If you manually select any device, the selection automatically changes to Set by Device.

When enabled, you can create Access Plans that can be assigned to multiple users. When disabled, you configure access individually for each user through their user profile.

You can only disable Access Plans if you do not have Access Control configured and you have deleted all Access Plans. Once disabled, you can re-enable at any time.

If Access Control is added, Access Plans automatically enable and the toggle becomes hidden. If Access Control is removed, the toggle becomes visible with Access Plans enabled, and you can disable them after deleting any Access Plans.

User access is preserved through their Personal Access Plans. The interface simply changes to show access settings directly on each user's profile rather than through separate Access Plans.

The toggle is only visible for accounts using Access Plan User Management (APUM) without Access Control. If you have Access Control enabled, Access Plans are always available and the toggle is hidden.

  • Was this article helpful?