Skip to main content
Knowledge Base

How do Video Analytics notifications work?

Video Analytics notifications configured as Text Only or Attach a Thumbnail are sent upon detection of a person, vehicle, or animal rather than after the clip is uploaded.

Push

The notification is sent sent upon detection of a person, vehicle, or animal. The clip is uploaded after the notification is sent.

  • If you open the notification before the clip is uploaded, you are taken to the Live video page so you can quickly and easily see what is happening.
  • If you open the notification after the clip is uploaded, you are taken to the saved clip directly.

Note: For app versions below 4.21.3 for iOS or 4.21.2 for Android, the notification will always take you to the Live Video page even if the clip has been uploaded.

SMS or email

Text only or attach a thumbnail

The notification is sent sent upon detection of a person, vehicle, or animal. The clip is uploaded after the notification is sent.

  • When you open the notification, you are taken to the Live Video page so you can quickly and easily see what is happening.
Attach a video clip

The notification is sent after the clip from the video device is uploaded to the account.

  • When you open the notification, you are taken to the saved clip directly.

Interested in Alarm.com?

Alarm.com technology is sold, installed, and serviced by licensed service providers near you.

 

Let's Get Started

  • Was this article helpful?